Our Mayacamas Estate, known as Long Meadow Ranch since at least the turn of the previous century, is dominated by a long, elegant meadow nestled into the foothills of the Mayacamas Mountains. The original land "patent" for the Ranch was signed by President of the United States, Ulysses S. Grant, in 1872 and was granted to a man named E. J. Church.
The distinctive meadow is surrounded by hills and plateaus that, according to historical records, provided opportunities to cultivate grapes, apples, olives, and hay as well as to raise livestock. (Apparently, the Ranch at one time even included a goat milk dairy.)
Olives and grapes may have been supplied to a facility on adjacent land to the west, the Hassenmeyer Winery, while other crops went to market by horse-drawn wagon down the winding narrow road serving the Ranch.
Farming on the ranch was disrupted by the onset of Prohibition and the original vineyards and olive orchards were abandoned after about 1920. While the ranch was used intermittently for cattle and horse grazing in the years that followed, it ceased all commercial operations in the 1920s and its farmlands began a long, slow decay.
Meanwhile, a new, substantial residence was constructed on the property in the late 1920s using a unique manufactured limestone block developed at a local Napa Valley building materials company, the Basalt Rock Company. For the next sixty years, the residence was used primarily as a weekend home.
In 1989 our family acquired the property and began to lovingly restore the ranch to its turn of the century status as an important Napa Valley farming operation.
The limestone block residence (now nearly ninety years old), with its commanding views of the Valley, was restored to its original condition. The site's landscape was originally designed by San Francisco's famous architect, Tommy Church, and was re-landscaped by Napa Valley architect and sculptor, Jack Chandler, in the early 1990s. Since that time the site has been enhanced and maintained by landscape architect, Chris Moore. Surrounded by the 1997 Sunset Magazine Western Garden of the Year, the house is now the home to our family.
As our activities have expanded over the past twenty-five years, "Long Meadow Ranch" has become our identity across multiple locations, including the original Mayacamas Estate (1989), our cattle and sheep operation at Tomales Station in Marin County (2005), our Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch destination location in St. Helena (2009), our successively assembled Rutherford Estate (2002 - 2012) in the heart of the Rutherford appellation, and our recently acquired Anderson Valley Estate in the "deep end" near Philo in Mendocino County (2015).